Wednesday, 20 January 2016

Getting Acquainted with Changes in CCR Program

What is the CCR Program?

Business paradigm never remains constant, it keeps on evolving globally. This continuous development affects your career journey in many ways since the needs of employers change with passage of time. Just being certified is not enough in today’s competitive world; what really matters is being up to date with respect to your organizational needs.

Run by PMI® (Project Management Institute), the Continuing Certification Requirement (CCR) program is a methodology that lets you keep pace with ever-changing arena of businesses.

Maintaining your hard earned PMI® certification is need of the hour that simultaneously provides you with a competitive edge over peers, and also paves way to your professional growth.  Moreover, CCR is designed in such a way that it promotes growth and development in terms of your profession by preserving the PMI Talent Triangle, which is a mixture of technical, leadership, and strategic and business management expertise. 

The CCR program was last updated on 1 December, 2015, in line with the PMI Talent Triangle for keeping you updated with the constantly evolving business environments.

What is new in CCR?

In the new CCR program, categories (Education and Giving Back) of earning Professional Development Units (PDUs) are kept same; however, classification of these PDUs in these categories has been changed. Following is a brief description of two categories:

·         Education: Comprises of opportunities for expanding horizon of technical, leadership, or strategic and business management skills. Changes made under this category include:

o   60% of PDUs are required in this category
o   Earned PDUs should be in line with the PMI Talent Triangle
o   Minimum 35 Education PDUs should be gained

·         Giving Back: Includes activities that sharpen and enhance implementation skills. Changes made under this category:

o   Maximum 25 PDUs should be gained

In addition to the above PDU updates, navigation for claiming PDUs is made easier by improvising the existing online CCR system.

The PMI Talent Triangle is the ideal skill set based on employer’s demands and is a group of technical, leadership, and strategic and business categories.

Project Management Professional (PMP)® is an industry-recognized certification that opens door of opportunities for Project Managers around the globe. It is one of the most popular project management certifications offered by PMI®. Apart from ample opportunities, the earning potential through the PMP credential also cannot be neglected. Hence, to have a deep knowledge about the concepts, aspirants may join a formal training program, thereby, expanding their growth horizons.

No comments:

Post a Comment